How does one become a writer ? 

I find I’m being overwhelmed by the urge to write. But I don’t know what I want to write. I know I’ve always wanted to be a writer / publish work but it’s always been an idea. Lately I just feel like I SHOULD be writing something yet I am not sure what the medium would be … drama, poetry, prose… or what to do with it even if I got it done…

I know the main thing about being a writer means that you have to actually write. But then… is it writing just to purge yourself of the idea that unrelentingly encompasses our thoughts? Is it writing to have actual readers? Is it writing to have a message? 

Geographical location also makes it a bit tricky. Within the caribbean everything is expected to be … caribbean. Meaning… the Postcolonial type/ search for identity/ living on a small island experience. It’s only when writers leave and live in other places that diversity in thematic content seems to be more likely to be accepted. Experimentation is limited once you’re still writing from the island. 

I’m not even sure I want to be a writer “for life”. You can’t make a living on writing here… few people achieve that “epic” status. Readers are also getting few and far between as well… which begs the question would I even have an audience. 

I’ve just been mulling over a lot of things but I’ve found the act of sitting down to write has not happened… so maybe I am not ready just yet… but I hope one day I will be. 

4 thoughts on “How does one become a writer ? 

  1. Always…always write for yourself. I get a kernel of an idea and write it in whatever fashion seems to fit it best (fiction, poetry, memoir, etc.). Because of blogging you can write what you want and in the way you want it. I get the idea of typical tropes used by Caribbean writers, but your wonderful blog gives you the freedom just to write. Believe me…you’re ready. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel more than ever like now might be the time to really seriously “write” I suppose I just don’t know if having a feeling is enough lol according to Stephen king I have to actually WRITE. So I think over this summer I’m going to try to do that. Whatever idea I get just do something with it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

