Present fear… 

As humans we all have fears, many of which are often seen as “irrational”. Whether cultivated from childhood experience, adult realities or maybe even residual past life fears… They are present. 

I don’t see how anyone could not be fearful given the state of the world right now. It is a terrible place to live… Recession, forced migration, civil wars, terrorism are all REAL truths that we face. How can these things not overshadow everyday life?

The daily news in our country has gotten so bad many people admittedly don’t even watch the news anymore. Numerous killings with no suspects much less captures, a swiftly devaluing dollar, increased drug trafficking, human trafficking, inflation and job losses by the thousand paints a dark shadowy pall over the blazing sun of island life. 

I am afraid. A hungry man is an angry man… And a lot of people are hungry and going to be hungrier very soon. What recourse will they have? With a steady rotation of governments with no answer to abate our fears… Crime is without a doubt sure to increase even more (which seems hardly possible given the state of the nation). 

Fear makes people work against each other rather than together. Every man for them self. Crabs in a barrel… Society is hardened as each person has become myopic and concerned only with their own well-being. We need to overcome the fear and look not only to ourselves but also our fellow man to survive. It is only through support for each other… Buying local, encouraging entrepreneurship, looking out for your neighbour that we will overcome. 

I am reminded of my favorite quotation from Frank Herbert author of Dune – “Fear is the mind killer. It is the little death which brings total obliteration. I will face my fear I will permit it to pass over me and through me and when it has gone past me I will turn to see fear’s path. Where fear has gone there will be nothing and I will remain.” 

We must overcome the fear together if we are to come out of this hardship as a nation and not an island of people divided. But… I fear we are too selfish a society to survive. 

  

2 thoughts on “Present fear… 

  1. Amen! You have penned everything that I have been feeling for a long time now. Pity we have to hit low before we could rise. Question is how much lower is there and that, is frightening. Thanks for this. As twisted as it sounds, there is comfort when I know or am reminded that there are other empaths out there who are experiencing the same feeling I feel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

