Happiness? 

Maybe I just don’t know how to be happy. Could it be possible that I just only exist in a state of NOT being happy. Not necessarily that this means “sad”… But just not happy.

What IS happiness anyway? Is anyone ever really happy? 

To have a day not full of anxiety about something/ someone is impossible for me, that I know. 

Can you learn to be happy? 

I know self help/ motivational excerpts always say positive thoughts make “life” positive. I’ve never bought into that… But I do try it sometimes… But maybe since I don’t fully believe it, it has never worked for me. 

So far nothing has changed. Maybe I want the change too fast? Or I’m looking out for change too much? Or maybe there won’t be a change… 

I don’t know many happy people. I probably don’t know any off hand just by thinking … 

Why, with all the advancements in the world, is happiness even harder to achieve now than before?

  

2 thoughts on “Happiness? 

  1. Is happiness harder to achieve now? (Aristotle said “all those who have attained excellence in philosophy, in poetry, in art, and in politics had a melancholic habitus..”) I do think our concept of happiness is a bit warped. We treat it as a sustainable state. I think it’s enough to appreciate small moments and be satisfied with that degree of happiness. Others seem to want it 100% of the time and mourn when they fail to hit that mark.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

