Compromise 

I don’t think I will ever be able to compromise. 

I don’t feel like I want to be in a relationship and even if I were to try, I don’t believe I can compromise… And relationships are built on the ability to accept that the Other is not perfect and neither are you yet somehow you make it work because at times you are willing to disagree. 

But rigidity is in my nature. Life in general is very black and white… I don’t allow the grey. It may exist but it has never been my focus. Things are either one way or the next or I am this way or that. 

The inability to achieve middle ground seems to be an issue I will always have. While others suggest that compromise is good, I am not sure that I will ever be able to truly compromise. While there is the supposed possibility someone will come along that may make me feel inclined to try, how likely is that? 

Could this be just fear? 

I think I’m already too stuck in my way to willingly change now. 

  

Leave a Reply

