Open the Gate… 

I’m a pessimist. Optimism isn’t my strong suit however I try to appear to be optimistic when dealing with friends who are having a tough time. Not just because I’m trying to make them feel better about life but because I believe good things happen to “other” people. 

Yet while bad things have happened in my life I still can’t really say it’s been the worst life ever. This year in particular although it started out horribly has turned out to be one of the “better” years since my boyfriend died. So why do I doubt the possibility of happiness all the time? 

Why do people dwell on the bad experiences more so than the good? Why do obstacles take over our perspective rather than the means of overcoming them? Why do we tend to wallow in self-pity instead of taking definite action? 

I know I have to make a conscious effort to be more open, open to opportunity, people and even other sides of myself that I have not explored. I realize that in being so guarded and not believing myself worthy, many “gateways” remain closed to me that could have otherwise been opened. 

I don’t know how much longer my journey will be or where it will take me, but I hope I am optimistic enough to believe and in so doing realize that I need to follow my own path and open the gate. 

  

2 thoughts on “Open the Gate… 

  1. Your time will come…Believe me I went through several years thinking my life couldn’t get any worse. But it did. One day I decided to change everything about me and drown myself in positive thoughts and that is when my life changed completely. Keep your head up and fight everyday till you achieve what you want!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

